Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Insurance Questions in retail pharmacy

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by Citsouca1988, Dec 13, 2008.

1. Citsouca1988

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    I am a technician at a local cvs. Customers have been asking me some questions that I don't quite understand even when the pharmacists answers them clearly to me. Maybe I just don't click well the first time. Mainly its all about insurance issues.

The first question is why does the copay go up with one medication even if the quantity, strength, and directions are the same than the last same medication? Of course, I told the patient/customer she would need to call the insurnace company and we don't deal with the copays but she seemed very lost and confused. Anyways, I nicely called the insurance company and they told me the drug price went up and they still take the same certain percentage off of it. I guess that answers my first question but how do they calculate the price? Do the prices vary from one insurance company to another?

My second question is what are deductibles? I guess sometimes on a new year when insurance plans are activated, many patients have a deductible and they have no clue what they are. I was told that a deductible is when the insurance company won't cover the entire drug than usual until the patient purchases "X" amount of dollars in prescriptions in order for them to be covered fully by the insurance company. Is that right?

Many customers/patients are very lazy to call themselves. -_-

2. Sparda29

Sparda29 En Taro Adun
    Pharmacist Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Pharmacist