SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Interaction between MDMA and psychotropic meds???

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by MSW2DO, Dec 7, 2000.

1. MSW2DO

MSW2DO Member 10+ Year Member

Dec 18, 1999
    San Francisco, CA 94118
    Hello everyone!

I am a social worker in San Francisco, and I work with a lot of teenagers who are into the "rave scene" and all of the drugs that go along with that scene.

Some of my teens are on psychotropic meds for depression, yet they continue to use ecstasy (MDMA) on a regular basis. I know that MDMA can be a dangerous drug, and that chronic use can lead to depression. However, I do not know how MDMA interacts with anti-depressants. I know it can't be good. I was wondering if you all could provide me with some information about how MDMA interacts with common anti-depressants like Paxil, Effexor, Prozac, etc.

Some of these kids can be SO hard headed! Luckily, none of them have died yet. Should I tell them that if they feel the MUST take MDMA, then they should stop taking their meds? Please help. Thanks in advance.
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. together

together Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Oct 27, 2000
    Boston, MA
    Dear "MSW2DO,"

The simple answer is that anti-depressants, or selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) -- Prozac, Paxil, & Zoloft among others -- may actually reduce the effects of MDMA.

To make a complicated mechanism simple, MDMA enters serotonergic neurons and triggers a massive release of serotonin. This may prompt one to ask the following question: Could it be possible to prolong the effect of MDMA by new selective serotonin reuptake