Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Interested In Giving Yor Opinion???

Discussion in 'Step I' started by pristine21, May 15, 2007.

1. pristine21

pristine21 Junior Member

Medical Student
    I am trying something no-one else I KNOW has tried and I am a bit nervous- if you're interested please send me a personal message telling me a little about yourself, ( and if you dont mind how you do in med school, how you did on the exam) and most imp... what you think of my plan...

I was a barely below average student 1st year and a fairly above average student 2nd yr (honors 1X and near honors ~4 X) I finally think I figured out the med school thing but I have a bad history... I failed my SAT's (1040) and had to take my MCAT's 2X (25 and 27) SO I am a BIT nervous. My mistake in both of those instinces was not doing enough questions so this time around Im not gonna do that again... I am hoping to make Q bank my primary learning tool (annotating FA etc...) and for assessing my progress I plan on using the NBME self assesments and USMLE World

My goal is a 220, but I would like to see a 230+ and would be devistated if I got below a 215.

I would love to hear your thoughts on my 7 week plan:

I am spending 10 hours a day and taking off sundays (Catchup or break) every day for the first 5 weeks and going hardcore (12-14h days) for the last two

I plan on spending ~2 hours on 20 q bank questions in the begining and picking up the pace later- spending a good 4-6 hours a day just on that- Depending on how many q's there are in QB some days will be all subject based and some days will have more random Q's. I plan on reading the answers to all of them- annotating FA and reading up on stuff I am very weak in...

Day 1 NBME form 1- easy form - to assess my weak points from the start and either scare the crap out of me or boost my confidence... then

4 days pharm
    4 days micro
    3 days anatomy embryo cell bio