Interested in Neurosurgery; did my 1st semester ruin my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

forrestrocko

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As the subject says, I'm interested in Neurosurgery, but had a horrible first semester. I got a few A's, but also a couple B's and 2 C's. Luckily, no fails. I am in my third year now, and have done quite well since that first semester. For the most part, A's, with a couple B's sprinkled in. I did what I would say is pretty decent on Step 1, a 245. I also have some research to help me out, too, specifically research at a Brain Institute.

If it makes any difference, my performance during that first semester was due in large part to personal tragedy. In that ONE semester, I lost my best friend, as well as my grandfather (who was like a father), my actual father experiencing a stroke, and my wife filing for divorce. It was truly one blow after another, and I'm hoping that the fact that I was able to forge ahead through that quagmire of **** will allow the residency directors to see that I have what it takes, to be admitted into their program.

What do you guys think my chances of obtaining a Neurosurgery residency are? I know it's not quite to the level of Ortho, Optho, and Derm, but it's slightly more competitive than most. Any suggestions would be helpful, as to what I could do to set myself apart further. Obviously, my goal is to honor each rotation, but aside from that.....anything?

Thanks for any replies.

Members don't see this ad.

Why would you want to pursue neurosurgery?

Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Haha, b/c it fascinates me. Don't we all want to do what we actually enjoy?

I got straight passes in my first semester and wound up with AOA.

Is that typical? No way.
Did I pull off something miraculous after that? Perhaps.
Is it possible? Clearly so.
Will it happen to you? God only knows.