Interested in Neurosurgery; did my 1st semester ruin my chances?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by forrestrocko, Jan 11, 2018.

1. forrestrocko

Pre-Medical
    As the subject says, I'm interested in Neurosurgery, but had a horrible first semester. I got a few A's, but also a couple B's and 2 C's. Luckily, no fails. I am in my third year now, and have done quite well since that first semester. For the most part, A's, with a couple B's sprinkled in. I did what I would say is pretty decent on Step 1, a 245. I also have some research to help me out, too, specifically research at a Brain Institute.

If it makes any difference, my performance during that first semester was due in large part to personal tragedy. In that ONE semester, I lost my best friend, as well as my grandfather (who was like a father), my actual father experiencing a stroke, and my wife filing for divorce. It was truly one blow after another, and I'm hoping that the fact that I was able to forge ahead through that quagmire of **** will allow the residency directors to see that I have what it takes, to be admitted into their program.

What do you guys think my chances of obtaining a Neurosurgery residency are? I know it's not quite to the level of Ortho, Optho, and Derm, but it's slightly more competitive than most. Any suggestions would be helpful, as to what I could do to set myself apart further. Obviously, my goal is to honor each rotation, but aside from that.....anything?

Thanks for any replies.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. doc05

doc05 2K Member

Why would you want to pursue neurosurgery?

4. Winged Scapula

Winged Scapula Cougariffic!
    Staff Member Administrator Physician Faculty Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved

Attending Physician
    Moving to Allo

AdmiralChz likes this.
  5. forrestrocko

Pre-Medical
    Haha, b/c it fascinates me. Don't we all want to do what we actually enjoy?

6. CaptainSSO