interesting take on non-trad. admissions to MD over DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ivory

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a very nontraditional student. I started living in a van to save money, and have more time for study (no rent to pay)
I am told more non-traditional students go to DO schools. I plan to explain how I lived in my vehicle in the interview because I think it will speak to the board. Do you think explaining my situation is favored more by MD or DO institutions? Why?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a very nontraditional student. I started living in a van to save money, and have more time for study (no rent to pay)
I am told more non-traditional students go to DO schools. I plan to explain how I lived in my vehicle in the interview because I think it will speak to the board. Do you think explaining my situation is favored more by MD or DO institutions? Why?

Non-traditional generally refers to the number of years taken off after undergraduate studies but before medical school. While your story definitely qualifies as nontraditional, that's typically not what we mean.

That being said, your story certainly is compelling. If you framed it right, I'd want to hear more. My institution, which grants MD's, is extremely interested in recruiting individuals who have financial difficulty due to the insight it gives people into the lack of accessibility of resources many of our patients face; the institution has many rotations in low income areas, and an understanding of the hardships of those kinds of hardships can often help a student serve patients better.