Intern Annual Bonus/ Resident Annual Bonus

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

corpsman33

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am currently a Hospital Corpsman in the Navy who has been accepted to medical school for the class of 2016. My HSCP package is going to boards in October right now (which is the first board of the year) and will most likely be approved.

I have a several questions regarding the annual military bonus for physicians in the military.

Do you get an Intern annual bonus?

Will my time in the military cause the bonus to be higher (I currently have 4 years in, but since HSCP is active duty time then I will have 9 years by the time I am an intern)?

Do you get a Resident annual bonus?

Once I am staff, will I be given my specialty bonus even though I am still paying back time on the HSCP requirement?

My last question is regarding Loan Repayment (since HSCP does not pay tuition but gives you active duty pay/benefits instead).

If I begin repaying my loans during residency and I stay in the military for over 10 more years, will the remainder of my loans be forgiven??

I understand that some of these questions may have already been asked in SDN, but it was easier for me to make one thread with all of my questions then searching out each individual answer.

Sorry for so many questions, but I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Do you get an Intern annual bonus?

No, you will get variable special pay though which for interns is something like $100 a month
Will my time in the military cause the bonus to be higher (I currently have 4 years in, but since HSCP is active duty time then I will have 9 years by the time I am an intern)?