ZZZ the foxbat

2+ Year Member
Jan 10, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all,

I am an international student who attends undergrad here in the US and applying to med school this cycle. I have completed most of my ~25 secondaries by mid-late July (LM >80) but I have not heard anything back yet. After knowing several of my friends who have received IIs already, I am wondering if international students will be notified later in the cycle for interviews? Thanks so much for any input!

Reactions: Sunbodi

Welshman

He runs like a Welshman
2+ Year Member
May 11, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical, Medical Student
My understanding is international spots are usually very competitive since there are so many Applicants and very few international spots. They're probably waiting to go through a few more apps.

That said by the end of August over 70% of interviews have yet to be given out according to a graph by efle

NeedACar

2+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2016
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
I received 3 interviews in August, and then one in September and 3 in October, as an international student :)

Depends on your stats, the schools, etc.

Reactions: ZZZ the foxbat

totafan

2+ Year Member
Oct 13, 2016
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
International applicant with lower LM joining the thread! Hoping we all hear back soon :)

Also I think this cycle started off later than last cycle...

Reactions: ZZZ the foxbat

medDaisuki

2+ Year Member
Jan 6, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Some schools review international applications after they have reviewed domestic ones.

medDaisuki

2+ Year Member
Jan 6, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all,