International Master's degree in clinical psychology-Equivalancy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Advice101

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im looking for some advice and I hope someone here can help me.

Here is a little background info:
I have BA in Economics and Psychology. I graduated from UC Santa Cruz almost 2 years ago. I have always seen myself working as a therapist. But I also have an urge to move out of the country and study in an international university.

I want to earn a Master's degree in Clinical Psychology. My fear is the degree I will earn abroad will not be accepted here, in CA, at all and I will have to start the whole process over again. I still have not decided what country I want to study in but I am looking into Australia, Austria, even maybe South Africa.

So my question is this:

If I move back to CA, will it accept my Master's degree? I know I will have to take the state license exam to practice, but will the degree be equivalent to a Master's degree obtained in the US, esp. CA?

I will appreciate any advice that I can get. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

The vast majority of clinical psychology masters degrees are not meant for licensure, they are meant as a stepping stone into a doctoral program. You'll be better served by a terminating degree like an MS in Social Work, Counseling, etc.

The best way to work internationally as a therapist, with reciprocity, is probably with a Masters in Social Work.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi Advice101, I'm from Australia, a country where most of our clinical psychologists and clinical neuropsychologists are Masters-trained, rather than Doctorate-trained (although many do choose to pursue a PhD as well, as psychologists in general are quite into research - however, this is not a *requirement* here).