International Non-US Applicant Questions About PhD Funding

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PETRAN

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to all the people of the Student Doctor Psych. Forum

I'm a non-US psychology graduate with post-graduate (masters) degrees in cognitive neuropsych and another one in clinical neuropsych (well, where i work you don't need a PhD to practice clinical neuropsych. heh). I do some clinical work with assessments and cog. rehabilitation of people with TBI. I was always interested in pursuing PhD level work and whilst i like the clinical side of neuropsych and cognition, i am extremely interested in human factors/engineering psych. especially applying it on people with cognitive disabilities (although not only restricted to clinical populations, e.g. another area is attentional allocation in various environments which i guess it is pretty common in that field).

My question is about funding. Do human factors PhD programs of state Unis like the one in central Florida (or Clemson if i recall well?) cover the academic expenses? I see that for non-US (or non-state?) applicants the rates are over the roof, does the University cover ALL of it (or maybe part of it?), especially if you do assistanships, teaching and stuff? Is it possible to find part-time employment on a related subject while you do the PhD?

Also any information on career prospects with a engineering psych. PhD would be appreciated, although i realise it is an obscure area of psych.

I also wonder if two post-graduate masters degrees would look...bad in my application (i will also be a non-trad student since i am 32 :p). Anyway thanks for reading!

P.

Members don't see this ad.