International student from a non-US college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bisrat

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an Ethiopian Public Health graduate, now completing a master's degree in neurobiology in Finland. I want to go for a med school in the US, but for starters they require that I complete my previous education in a US college. Do you know any place where I could be elligible with my current status (assuming that i fulfill all other requirments)?

Many thanks,

bisrat

Members don't see this ad.

Just to be clear, Canadian undergrad education is accepted by US medical schools also.

It might be possible to go to a Carib medical school like St Georges or Ross with your educational background. From there, you might be able to obtain a US residency spot (although you should review this board about this issue)

Members don't see this ad :)
I am not aware of any US medical schools which do not require that you have at least 90 units completed in a US undergraduate university.

Well that is not true, all you need to do is apply into a premed program and the fulfill all the prerequisites. then u write your MCAT and you good to go. The only problem however is funding your education which is no small joke. If you can get a relative to co-sign your loans, then you go straight ahead and give it a shot. I wish you all the best. The pre-med programs vary but you can do one intensive one for a year.

Well that is not true, all you need to do is apply into a premed program and the fulfill all the prerequisites. then u write your MCAT and you good to go. The only problem however is funding your education which is no small joke. If you can get a relative to co-sign your loans, then you go straight ahead and give it a shot. I wish you all the best. The pre-med programs vary but you can do one intensive one for a year.