International student here. What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eeyore1228

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm an international student studying at Penn State. I just finished a semester of junior year and have only now decided that I want to apply to dental schools after I graduate in Spring 2019. I’m pretty stressed lol, so I’d really appreciate it if someone could look into my current stats + plans for the next three semesters and tell me what they think/ share some advice?

1. I am a biotechnology major and I currently have a 3.3cGPA . I’m hoping to graduate with at least a 3.5-3.6 cgpa and 3.5 sgpa before I send in my applications. Is a 3.5/~3.6 competitive for most schools, including Ivy League ones? My transcripts show that I was stuck at a 3.0 during freshman and sophomore year, but I'm planning to work my ass off the next two years to show how I progressed from a 3.0 to 3.6

2. In addition to the courses that all the schools require, I have already taken biochemistry, microbiology, genetics, molecular biology, immunology, statistics and calculus classes. Will this give me an upper-hand in any way? I am also planning on taking an anatomy and a physiology class, and am wondering if that’s unnecessary pressure with my own major classes?

3. Right now I’m thinking I should take the DAT sometime during the end of summer 2018 so that I get 3ish months to prepare. I will be taking an advanced organic chem class during that summer (I've taken introductory ones for the DAT already) while I prepare for the DAT. I have a LOT of brushing up to do on gen chem and certain topics in biology since I took them during freshman year. Any suggestions as to how I can prepare for the DAT to get a 20+AA ?

4. Currently my extra curricular activities include:
- volunteering for red cross (300+ hours)
- volunteering at a nearby hospital (200 hours)