Mar 29, 2010
Status
Hi,
I'm an international student at a Top 10 US Medical School which I will not name due to privacy reasons. I finished my second year and took Step I last summer and am currently on a year off to do research. I have a full tuition scholarship that covers my tuition and fees and my parents paid for my living expenses and health insurance for my first two years.

I have a big crisis now because I had a huge argument with my father, who has been very controlling and emotionally abusive all my life. Now he refuses to finance me, even though he has the money. I see no way of reasoning with him; he has a lot of mental problems.

This is a big issue for me because I will no longer be able to pay for my living expenses, books and fees which amount to 25,000 a year. I really want to continue my education and have been doing really well in my classes and have aced the Step 1 (260+ score). I do not know if my school will let me borrow 25,000 dollars. I'm really scared that I will not be able to continue my education. What should I do at this point? Do you think my school will offer a way out, should I talk to them?

Raigon

This is an emergency.
10+ Year Member
Jul 5, 2008
Status
Medical Student
Hi,
I'm an international student at a Top 10 US Medical School which I will not name due to privacy reasons. I finished my second year and took Step I last summer and am currently on a year off to do research. I have a full tuition scholarship that covers my tuition and fees and my parents paid for my living expenses and health insurance for my first two years.

I have a big crisis now because I had a huge argument with my father, who has been very controlling and emotionally abusive all my life. Now he refuses to finance me, even though he has the money. I see no way of reasoning with him; he has a lot of mental problems.