International Students in US Medical Schools.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xftl

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody. I am an international student from Tajikistan, studying biochemistry (pre-medical track) in US college. I am a freshmen. I want to go to medical school here, in the US. I heard that in order to get accepted into medical school as an international you have to do some big stuff... Can people that made it there write where are they from, their GPA, MCAT score, ex-cu, where did they find funds, and where did they apply? Thank you for sharing:)

Members don't see this ad.

Not sure what you mean by "big stuff". Your application shouldn't be viewed differently because you are an international students. Plenty of my friends who recently graduated medical school came to the US as international students and had no problems getting into medical school (Stony Brook, NYU, Columbia).

Just remember, you will still need a student visa. I would talk to your pre-med advisor. Good luck!

Last edited:
I am under the strong impression that most medical schools in the US require green card (legal residency) or citizenship as from examples below

NYU

http://school.med.nyu.edu/md-admissions/how-apply/admissions-requirements-selection-criteria

International Applicants

In view of the large number of applications to the School and the difficulties involved in the application procedure for students abroad, foreign candidates are not encouraged to apply if they are not permanent residents of the United States

YALE

http://admissions.yale.edu/applying-yale-international-student

Special Note to International Students Intending to Study Medicine