Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

international volunteering?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by blue129, Apr 7, 2007.

1. blue129

I studied Spanish in high school, but my undergrad has a pretty anemic department. I don't want to give it up, but other local colleges aren't much better, and wouldn't be worth it for the transportation/scheduling issues involved.

I've heard that spending a semester abroad is really the only way to learn a language, and I'd love to do it. However, I'm a prospective science major and cramming in my course requirements wouldn't be the best thing for my education. I wouldn't be giving the topics the attention they deserve, not to mention the effort I'd need to do well on them. Plus, loading up on 3 or 4 science courses would crowd out my psych/philosophy/music interests.

So: I'm looking for summer volunteering opportunities in Spanish-speaking countries. Volunteering with organizations at home that serve predominantly-hispanic communities is wonderful, and I'm doing that for part of this summer, but it doesn't address my language goals as much as I'd like. I really need to be/want to be forced to speak Spanish...

Also, it would be great if I could find something involving clinical experience, since I'm figuring out whether I want to be a physician or straight-up PhD and any such experience I could get would help me decide. (But I'm an undergrad--how could I possibly help in a clinical setting?:confused:)

I'm also looking for a relatively long commitment, since I couldn't possibly make a difference (in the community or in my Spanish!) in 2 weeks; so, something at least 7 weeks? Plus, I might be able to swing grant funding for a longer commitment and not have to wipe out this summer's earnings to pay for a trip next summer.