International work as a PA/NP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eccles1214

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What can PAs or NPs do outside the U.S.? I have been volunteering in rural international health work for several years, and I did U.S.-based homeless social work and health promotion for many years. I would like to be able to run and work in rural refugee-type global health situations in Africa and Asia, both as a practitioner and in policy-related public health work (i.e. work for the WHO or Medicins san Frontieres, etc.). I thought about applying to medical school, but my premed classes are way out of date, some of the grades are mediocre, and I'm older (almost 42). I don't think I would get into any med school, even an osteopathic one -- so I have started thinking about PA or NP.

Is PA/NP just a U.S. phenomenon? Can mid-levels practice outside of the U.S.? Would I be taken seriously as a mid-level if I wanted to start and run clinics? What about consultancy or administration work for the WHO or other health agencies?

Any ideas?

Members don't see this ad.

eccles1214 said:
What can PAs or NPs do outside the U.S.? I have been volunteering in rural international health work for several years, and I did U.S.-based homeless social work and health promotion for many years. I would like to be able to run and work in rural refugee-type global health situations in Africa and Asia, both as a practitioner and in policy-related public health work (i.e. work for the WHO or Medicins san Frontieres, etc.). I thought about applying to medical school, but my premed classes are way out of date, some of the grades are mediocre, and I'm older (almost 42). I don't think I would get into any med school, even an osteopathic one -- so I have started thinking about PA or NP.