Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Internship Woes

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by eliteone, Mar 27, 2007.

1. eliteone

Pre-Dental
    Hi, All,

I was looking for a fresh perspective on my situation, and I was wondering what all of you think. I am a 5th year phd student in a really, really strong program. This year I applied to internship with 3 very strong letters (I saw all 3), 5 publications (2 in psychological assessment), etc., etc. However, my major professor (also the clinical director of the program) really had a strong hand in screwing everything up. He strongly discourages the gradaute students from submitting more than 5 applications. None of the students listen to him -- but they don't have to because he does not write letters of rec for them. However, he of course writes me a letter of rec. Anyway, he basically told me to apply to no more than 3 sites because he had an inside deal with one particular internship and, whether I like it or not, I was going there. Well, although it is a top notch internship, I did not want to go there. However, I couldn't argue because he would think I was being insubordinate and then write me a bad letter. Anyway, the internship suddenly lost its accrediation on 12/06 -- it was too late to submit any more apps to other sites. Out of the other 2 apps I sent out, I got 2 interviews (University of Illinois - Chicago and Chicago Medical School). Bother were very, very, very competitive sites and of course I didn't match.