Interpreting AAMC Practice MCAT scores

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HorseOfJuly1394

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,
I have been studying for about two months now, and I am set to take the MCAT on the 18th of July. I finally got to completing a practice AAMC exam, provided by Kaplan, this afternoon, and although my scores look okay, I am not really certain how to interpret the percentiles. Here's what I got.

Chem/Phys: 86%
CARS: 89%
Biology: 88%
Psych/Soc: 80% (I kind of skimped on this last section)

The scores are definite improvements over the practice Kaplan Full lengths that I took earlier. Does anybody know how this would look like out of 528, or is there any statistical data that one can refer me to?

Thanks guys!
Horsey

Members don't see this ad.

Hey dude, it looks like you're pretty set for the MCAT, based on past people's experiences with the AAMC FL and their actual exam.

I was taking a break earlier and feeling rather neurotic, so I put together a rough predictor of scores, which gives two ranges: one in which your score is likely to fall in, and one in which your score is 95% of the time going to fall in.

For anyone else reading this, I did not use any legitimate statistics to come up with this predictor, just some regression and tweaking of predictor formulas. (This means the previously stated 95% means literally nothing, except that I made the range larger so your score will probably fall in it).

I will be updating it with more scores and more scores come out, so maybe there will actually be a solid linear regression with a lot of data points, but for now, the regression is pretty weak. It's attached below for those curious.

Attachments

• AAMC MCAT Predictor.xlsx
    22.4 KB · Views: 540
Reactions: 2 users