Interview depression----please advise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clairemd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please provide any advice. This is my first post. I attend a top 20 private university. I am chem. major/math minor. I have 3.79 gpa, 3.82 sgpa. I got a 33 on the MCAT. I have done research at two labs in Atlanta and Nashville. I have little clinical experience. My home state is Georgia
I applied to:
Stretch schools: Northwestern and Vanderbilt
Others: Emory
Virginia
North Carolina
Mayo
Wake Forest
Colorado
Iowa
Strong chance schools: Medical College of Georgia
Minnesota
Tulane
George Washington

I have received two immediate rejections (Mayo and Minnesota). I've had 2 interviews (MCG and Vanderbilt.) and then recieved wait list letters from both. 0 from everyone else. I have spent my whole life trying to be a physician and can't even function now because it looks as if I will not get in anywhere. What should I do.......is there anything I can do? Are the wait lists just polite for "you will never hear from us again". Please help.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Perhaps a few more details would help with your wish for advisement. It's always tough to judge these situations because these stats only say so much about you as a "medical school package". How is your personal statement? How are your reqs? How are your other ECs? What extent (or lack thereof) of clinical experience?

Members don't see this ad :)
Did you apply to any other schools? Did you get interviews at all of the above programs?

I applied to 14 schools with everything completed in early Sept.