Introduce Yourself!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

idk88

I honestly haven't a clue
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!!

I am seriously considering switching my plan of study from pre-vet to pre-med. Im only a sophomore (undergrad @ Purdue) so the switch will be painless. However, I am fearful of switching and regretting it later. I have always wanted to be a doctor of some sort, to treat and heal, and as I grew older I longed to operate. But theres one problem, I want to have a family, a large one at that. My biggest fear when it comes to be becoming an MD is that I won't have time for the family that I have always pictured. Im sure there has been a plethera of discussions concerning the family life of a doctor, but I was hoping to get some specific feedback and advice. My ultimate dream is to be a surgeon, but Im told it takes the standard 4 years of med. school and then 4 years or so of insane residency and then even more time for specializing. Im not sure if all types of Doctors live the same life, but I just cant picture that being my life. Can anyone give me any advice? I would love to work with newborns and premies, or then something unrelated infectious diseases. I don't think I would fancy being a family physician or anything like that. Can someone help??

Anyway, other than that ball of confusion.. My name is Jess and I go to Purdue.

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Jess.

Welcome. I'm the official guy who is up way too late for his own good and fancies himself able to say things that may well be related to what you're asking about. Keep in mind with everything I say that I am applying now and so know somewhere between absolutely nothing and diddly squat about doctors' lives.