Introduction and Advice

Discussion in 'Physician Scientists' started by Tarallk, Nov 25, 2002.

1. Tarallk

Tarallk New Member

Hi everyone-
    I'm new to this board, so I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a sophomore at Penn State University, and I'm currently double majoring in Premedicine and Psychology. I've only recently decided that I want to do a MD/PhD program, mainly because I didn't even know they were out there before. Right now I have a 3.92 GPA and I'm looking at getting a 4.0 this semester. Unfortunately, I wasted my first year a bit because I was only planning on majoring in Psychology. I'm worried that it might take me 5 years to graduate because of that and the double major. I've already bought an MCAT book and started looking over it. I'm planning on starting getting research experience this summer. Right now I'm looking into volunteering at a local hospital. My question is, is there anything else I should be doing in order to better prepare? My time is sort of limited because I also do work-study as a peer tutor, plus holding another job. I am looking into switching jobs and working as a home health aide because it will pay better AND i would get some experience working with the sick. If anyone has any advice on anything else I should look into doing, please let me know!

Thanks,
    Tara

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. jot

jot

souds like you are on the right track - grades are great, keep em up, and get as much research under your belt as possible. sounds like things are really hectic for you - take just as much as you can handle, you're doing an admirable job. again - research experience is the key for this stuff, and since you have time (longitudanly) just get some good experiences you can talk and about and participate in. goodluck - enjoy

-jot

4. Neuronix

Neuronix Total nerd
    Administrator Physician PhD Faculty SDN Advisor

Attending Physician