1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Introduction and Pre-pharmacy Preparation Question

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by RonC, Apr 22, 2004.

1. RonC

RonC Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Hello, everyone! I'm new to the forum and had a few questions for anyone out there that may have been, or is in the same situation I'm in with respect to fulfulling the prerequisites for pharm. school. I apologize ahead of time for the length of the posting.

A little history first..... Many moons ago (1996), I completed a degree in Biochemistry. I took all of the necessary coursework that falls under the umbrella of pre-pharmacy. I finished with a fairly respectable overall GPA--3.67. My science GPA was probably in the ball park of 3.4. While doing my undergrad. work, I always wanted to go to pharmacy school, but I was a very timid individual who steered clear of competitive pursuits like these. Following graduation, I ultimately ended up doing IT work for nearly eight years. I even managed to graduate with honors with a degree in Computer Science while working. In December of 2003, I was laid off from my employer after three years of service. This was one of several I've endured over my seven year stint in IT. As a result, I've grown very tired with the level of volatility and the impersonal nature of work associated with IT/technology sector. This last layoff, although tough at first, has been cathartic; my interest in pharmacy has been rekindled. Pharmacy seems to be a good career as it addresses the concerns I had with my IT work (seemingly). I know the hours are long and the personal treatment may not be that great in some cases, but those experiences a