IS a 29 good enough for ANY med schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KatieJune

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got a 29 (8PS, 11BS and 10V) and I have a 3.5 gpa. I'm a CA resident but am willing to go anywhere! Would I be wasting my time applying?

Members don't see this ad.

Go for it! I don't think you would be wasting your time (or money) by applying this cycle. A 29 is not a bad score and I feel that you have a great chance at a lot of schools. Just be sure to apply to a wide range of schools in all tiers.

Hoovah

29 is fine to apply with. Just pick the schools wisely to having avoid wasting your time/money.

Members don't see this ad :)
The average MCAT score of those matriculating into med school is a 29.5. Obviously you have a very good shot-especially at middle and lower tier schools. In my opinion, a 29 would not get you rejected automatically at most schools.

There are plenty of schools out there where you have a good chance of getting in. For example, U. of Louisville is a respected med school, usually ranked in top 50, and the avg. MCAT score there is only 27. Go for it!!

yeah-- definetly apply. not only do you have nothing to lose (except for the application fees), but you have a good chance of getting in!! just be sure to apply to lots of schools. best of luck!!

A 29 is good enough for LOTS of medical schools!! :) So, go for it. Make sure your LOR's and essays are terrific. Choose your schools wisely, and apply to lots of them (there's even a thread on this very topic, which I can't find right now due to the disappearance of the search function :( ). I applied to 23 schools last year with a 3.5 GPA and a 30 MCAT, and had good results. Best of luck!! :D