is a full summer too much for MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hardworker101

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was planning to take no class in summer and just study MCAT all summer, all day, maybe little work in research lab early in morning.
Am I making this test way harder than it is? Is the full summer too much that makes me crazy at end?
Has anyone done this?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

That sounds fine.

If you are planning to study on your own then 5-6 hours per day is perfect starting in mid May.

That's what I did with the Kaplan course.

For this past August MCAT I studied about 5-6 hours per evening/night for a little over a month using a kaplan book, a tpr book, my old text books and class notes, and the AAMC tests.
The whole summer is plenty long, and I don't think it's too long. Just make sure it's quality time - there's no point deceiving yourself.

arminshivazad said:
I was planning to take no class in summer and just study MCAT all summer, all day, maybe little work in research lab early in morning.
Am I making this test way harder than it is? Is the full summer too much that makes me crazy at end?
Has anyone done this?

Thanks

Most people don't have the full summer to spend exclusively on the MCAT, so you will be at the high end. But I would have loved to have had that option -- I say do it.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was thinking about doing the same thing. I was also planning on taking time off from work for 4 weeks before the MCAT.
It's a great idea if you can afford it.
Good luck

I used to always sit in the same area in the library this summer when I was studying and now I can't go near there.....freaks me out.....good thing our library has 12 floors. lol.