Is America Prospective For Trained Physicians?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TAMallick

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
.I am a Bangladeshi trained medical doctor. Recently I became successful at finding a residency position in America. I am curious to know, is America prospective for trained physicians?.

Members don't see this ad.

.I am a Bangladeshi trained medical doctor. Recently I became successful at finding a residency position in America. I am curious to know, is America prospective for trained physicians?.

I don't understand what you said. That's not how you would normally use the word prospective in a sentence. Could you rephrase?

Not sure you meant "prospective"...at least that is not how we would use the word.
Do you mean, "What are the career prospects for a foreign-born physician in the United States?".

Prospects aren't so hot if you can't speak the language.

Prospects aren't so hot if you can't speak the language.

Agreed. Seriously, isn't the TOEFL supposed to take care of this issue? I have nothing against FMGs, but if you want to practice medicine in a country, speak the language fluently.

Agreed. Seriously, isn't the TOEFL supposed to take care of this issue? I have nothing against FMGs, but if you want to practice medicine in a country, speak the language fluently.

Well you'd expect it to be so, but the TOEFL was left behind with the CS. however it shouldn't be so-- the CS in my opinion is way too subjective and permissive (given the pass/fail grading) of people who'd otherwise have a borderline TOEFL score, wich is pretty comprehensive and objective, I think (having taken it thrice in this lifetime).

When I was a med student, I did a rotation at a crappy FMG internal medicine place.