is anyone an EMT or paramedic to prepare for PA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

timbo85

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am considering being an EMT or paramedic to get some clinical experience before becoming a physician assistant. Anyone else doing this?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Timbo!

I have been an EMT for 18 years (volunteer) and am now in my first year of med school.

I have know a few people who made the move from EMS to PA school. It can be a great way to get good, hands-on patient care experience.

Good luck!

I too know people who have been EMT's/Paramedics in preparation for PA school. If I am not mistaken, PA schools require a couple thousand hours of patient contact time for admission. EMS would be a fun/interesting way to fufill that requirement. :)

Members don't see this ad :)