• Please review the updated member agreement. Included is a new statement supporting the scientific method and evidence-based medicine. Claims or statements about disease processes should reference widely accepted scientific resources. Theoretical medical speculation is encouraged as part of the overall scientific process. However, unscientific statements that promote unfounded ideological positions or agendas may be removed.
Aug 18, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a 27-year-old non traditional student. My academic history has had its major ups and downs and I have taken time off here and there due to simply not knowing what I want to do with my life. I have many many interests in life (due to my INFP personality type) and have pursued some of them and have been ultimately turned off by them. Case and point, a year and a half ago, I quit college studying as a Computer Information Systems major and began working for our local NBC affiliated news station. I quickly climbed the ranks and became their evening news producer for a while. Then the company was sold right around the same time I was realizing this is not how I want to spend the rest of my life, and 2/3 of the station was laid off, including myself. So between this past spring and now, I have been undergoing some serious soul searching. I want to help people. I want to work my ass off. I want to make a difference in this world. I want to become a doctor. I happen to come from a family of medical professionals as well. Grandfather is a doc, father is a doc, step mother is an RN and my oldest brother works with a stem cell clinic. I have been accepted back into school this fall and am planning on majoring in biology, pre med. I have a good 2-3 years ahead of me of undergrad, which is fine with me. Plenty of time to show a super-stellar upward trend and hopefully partially rebuild my destroyed gpa. My question is, in my situation, is there a possibility here? Am i barking up the wrong tree? I am willing to go above