Is being a nurse a kiss of death for med school admission?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zeek

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I see that very few, if any, nursing graduates are admitted into med schools.

Members don't see this ad.

I know a few nurses at the clinic I work at who are going through the admissions process now. I think that atleast two of them have a better chance than I do. I think the only disadvantage might be if you have been out of school so long that you don't do well on the MCAT. I imagine many nurses do that. Come to think of it my father actually went from nurse practitioner to MD. I can't believe I had forgotten that.

Zeek, I am very interested in this, as well. As a nurse, I have "trained-in" many docs. I am of the old school, where the CEO of any business should start from the bottom. Likewise, MD's would benefit from the nursing experience. :wink:

Members don't see this ad :)
do you think it's tough cause they don't want to lose any more nurses? i worked in a rehab dept and the orthopedic surgeon at the hospital started off as a physical therapist. i thought that was interesting.

I met one nurse at an interview, and he had already been accepted to Vermont, and had several interviews to hear from (this was back in November). I don't think it would be bad at all, assuming that your grades and MCAT are good.

I have a friend who started as an EMT, became a Paramedic, Nurse, and is now in med school. I know his MCATs weren't great, but he feels that his great clinical experiences got him in.

I made this observation based on the historic data universities provide vis-a-vis their students. I saw that very few ( as a % of total class) nursing graduates matriculated at the top med schools.