Is community college going to hurt my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnDoeJR

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a pre-dental student and I was wondering if taking organic chemistry at a community college during the next two summers would be beneficial or if it would be looked down upon. A little about my background, I took my first year at community college (had to to help my mom after my father passed) where I took gen chem 1 and 2 both with easy A's with a bunch of my gen ed classes. I then transferred to a top 10 school for engineering and after interning over the past summer I found that it just is not for me. I always wanted to be a dentist so I shadowed a couple dentists an orthodontist and an oral surgeon, I love it. So needless to say I am trying to play a little bit of catch up and am now doing finance. Sorry for all the useless information but I thought it would deter some hate for my intentions not being in the right place.

I now am up to organic chem and here at this math and science mad house of a school I go to the grade distribution is 10% A's and 14% B's respectively for both 1 and 2. It is ridiculous and I do not agree with the way that it is set up just to weed out students, I have seen the tests and it is like they intentionally try to trick you on the questions. If I take 1 and 2 at community college and have a pretty good chance of getting A's in both are they just going to look at it as I am trying to take the easy way out (which I am) but I would love to be asked why I did it in an interview because it seems like a no brainer or is it? I know this has been answered before in some way but every time I see it I still can't apply it to myself. For what it's worth, my current science gpa is a 3.67 and my cumulative is a 3.6. Thanks for any help.

Members don't see this ad.