Is Dentistry right for me? Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RaisingFargo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman in college majoring in liberal arts. In the back of my mind I have always had the desire to be in the medical field (particularly dentistry), because there is absolutely nothing I love more than helping people, interacting with them, and solving complex problems with critical thinking. However, I entered college as liberal arts because I'm not a "math and science guy", but throughout the course of this first semester I've really come to grips with the fact that I should pursue this inclination to help people.

I guess my question is: Even though I do not particularly care for math and science, is becoming a dentist out of the question? Will I even survive the pre-requisite dental school courses if I can't stand them?

Also, is sophomore year too late to begin taking these dental school pre-reqs? As a liberal arts major, lets just say my classes haven't been the most challenging thus far.

Any input is appreciated.

Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Sophomore year is not too late.

If you can't stand the courses, the next six years of your life will be a living hell.

I was in nearly the exact same situation. My senior year I decided to do dentistry as an English Literature major. I found the objectivity of science refreshing and challenging. Changing my career goals set me back a couple years, but I knew that dentistry would be far more fulfilling than...whatever I would do with an English degree (probably teach).

Members don't see this ad :)
1) Shadow a dentist for several months. You will learn a lot and broaden your knowledge/perspective of dentistry when you interact with a dentist and their patients! I highly recommend you do this.