Is doing an audition rotation without ever doing an EM rotation a bad idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

So basically a place I want to do an EM audition rotation for my fourth year only has openings in July. I have my required 4th year EM rotation at this time. I am setting myself up to look like an incompetent fool by doing this audition rotation and rescheduling my required rotation?

Members don't see this ad.

I did exactly that and matched juuuust fine.

Last edited:
So basically a place I want to do an EM audition rotation for my fourth year only has openings in July. I have my required 4th year EM rotation at this time. I am setting myself up to look like an incompetent fool by doing this audition rotation and rescheduling my required rotation?
I'm only a med student but I don't think it matters too much. You are not expected to be a rock star. You are, however, expected to be enthusiastic, polite and ask questions. To get a hang of things, I suggest looking over differentials before and after interviewing patients. And come up with a reasonable plan and assessement. I didn't know what to expect during my first ER rotation either but I got the hang of things after the first week. Good luck

Members don't see this ad :)
I had to do that as well. Rocked it and I was the only one who had not had a previous EM rotation. You don't have to know everything, just work hard, and be enthusiastic.

I'm only a med student but I don't think it matters too much. You are not expected to be a rock star. You are, however, expected to be enthusiastic, polite and ask questions. To get a hang of things, I suggest looking over differentials before and after interviewing patients. And come up with a reasonable plan and assessement. I didn't know what to expect during my first ER rotation either but I got the hang of things after the first week. Good luck

Agree