Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Is Home Internet Connection Essential?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by medicomel, Jul 25, 2006.

1. medicomel

medicomel Purveyor of short posts.

Resident [Any Field]
    hi guys,

i've been accessing the internet in free wi-fi locations and at work. do i really need one for home? comcast is really expensive, and i don't know if i need to tack on yet another expense?

i just don't want to kick myself at 2am when i'm studying and can't look at something online when i need to. is that a typical scenario or does that happen seldom enough to forget about home access? another thing i worry about is incessant sdn browsing and posting. you guys know what i mean

please advise when you have a sec,
    'mel

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. LauraPaz

LauraPaz Senior Member

Medical Student
    Are there any other ISP's in your area? I started looking into internet prices in St. Louis recently, and found that yes, the cable company rips you off something awful. When looking into AT&T DSL, I was hesitant, because they said you have to have phone service, and I had planned to just live on my cell phone. BUT, a local service-only line is really cheap, and their DSL is really cheap, so I ended up setting up my internet for like $20/month (including the phone line). Granted, that's based on their sign-up special, but even once the usual rate kicks in (after a year) it's still cheaper than the sign-on special was with the cable people.

Basically, look into all your options. Cable's not the only way to go, and even if DSL is a tad bit slower, it's worth paying less than half for it, in my book.

4. t33sg1rl

t33sg1rl Senior Member

No, it isn't essential-I know several people who do fine without it. Try it without for a semester, and if it really starts getting annoying, then sign up.

5. medicomel