Is it advisable to make a career shift at this point?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

comp_manif

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody.

I am currently a quantitative researcher at a major prop trading firm in NYC, before this I was working as a machine learning research scientist at one of the 4 major software companies. I completed my undergraduate degree at the University of Toronto in Canada (I am a Canadian citizen, not a US citizen) and MASt and PhD at the University of Cambridge.

I am considering a career shift into medicine, but I am having some doubts which I mention below. I was considering this while completing my undergraduate studies, and as such I completed the prerequisite courses. My undergraduate field of study was maths and computer science. My undergraduate GPA was 3.8 and my MCAT score was 44.

The three things I am most worried about are:

-Spending 9 years swamped with workload, and perhaps having a similarly difficult lifestyle even afterwards. My fiance and I are getting married this December, and we are planning on starting a family soon. My current work environment is perfectly suited for me, working 50-60 hours each week. But if the workload throughout medical school and residency is 80+ hours a week, then it is probably unsustainable. I am not sure if that is true.

-Earning around 50000 over those 9 years (approximately), which may mean I am making a terribly idiotic decision from a financial perspective as I currently have a salary of 220000 along with a varying bonus of around 600000 per annum. Though I know several practicing surgeons who earn around 1 to 1.5 million from their private practice, but this involves working around 14 hours a week and 2 of them are also named professors at some place. So I am assuming that is very rare and probably unheard of for anyone working say 50 hours a week.