Is it bad if I don't know what I want to do in medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Free2B

overworked, underpaid
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting here. I'm a non-traditional student and I really want to become an MD or perhaps a DPM. This may be a silly question but it seems like so many students I know who are pre-med know exactly what they want to specialize in already. When I tell them I don't really know what i'd like to do ppl think I have no focus at all. In my thinking I couldn't really even say right now because I would just appreciate to be in the field and could see myself doing almost anything, maybe except for neurosurgery or PEDS.
Does it look bad on an interview if you don't have a firm idea in mind of exactly what type of doctor you want to be?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! how are you?
I'm a premed applying for the class of 2012. I think your qeustion is a valid one; from what my premed advisor told me, adcoms don't care if you don't know what field you want to specialize in as long as you are truly passionate about medicine - that's what clinical years are all about, discovering what you are really passionate about.
Godd luck with everything!

NO! Your point of view looks GOOD. It is naive to think that one could know what specialty they absolutely want to commit to without even being in med school yet (I know there are exceptions). I think interviewers get tired of the applicant who insists they want to be X type of very specific doctor with A) limited experience in that field and B) even if they did a shadowing, no experience in other fields. I'd just give them a rough ballpark to show that yo are thinking about it but flat out say "I have no idea yet." Like I think I want to go into Medicine or OB/GYN over Surgery. Or I want to see patients over being a radiologist or pathologist. Etc.

Members don't see this ad :)