Is it considered cheating if a friend gave you an old teachers test to study?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

raredomainsuad

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My friend took a class last semester with the same teacher I'm taking right now. When he took the class the teacher gave the tests and answers back to the students (my friend) "willingly". My friend then gave me those tests to study for my upcoming exam which I took today. I studied the test thinking it was going to be a different test then the one my friend had. (Because the teacher said a week before our exam that shes going to write a new exam and writing our exam was going to be pretty time consuming for her.) After all, one would presume that a teacher will change an exam after giving it back to her old students with an answer sheet. I went to take the test and the test was the exact same test the teacher gave last semester. I know I got a 100 on it because I literally studied those questions for hours. My friend said that no one has ever received 100% on her exams. Even the smartest person has received 3 wrongs. All the questions and choices were the same on the exam. (It was multiple choice.) Is it considered cheating if it was her fault for not making a new exam? After all she did give the tests back to her old students with an answer sheet. (Her tests became public knowledge at that time.)

Members don't see this ad.

Ha. Still an unfair advantage over your peers. That's cheating. Not the best move for a premed.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 1 user
Some teachers and/or classes allow this.

However, if not explicitly stated, NO, it's not ok.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Ha. Still an unfair advantage over your peers. That's cheating. Not the best move for a premed.