Is it ever a bad thing to have too many M.D. docs write your LORs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lolasmommy

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay obviously from the title I have a number of M.D. and 1 D.O. doc that I have requested LORs from or they have offered to write me LORs. The list is below.

1 ICU intensivist (M.D.)
2 Internists (M.D.) (one is my personal physician and the other I worked with)
1 Internist (D.O.)
1 premed advisor/ professor
1 research mentor

I have worked closely with or spent a great deal of time with all the individuals listed above so I feel confident that they can vouch for my performance.

Back to the point. I have lots of work and volunteer experience. Problem is, I dont feel confident requesting LORs from majority of my former employers not because I dont think I performed my job well but because I don't think they would be proficient letter writers. Its sad to say that but many of them probably have never written anything close to an LOR and may even jeopardize my chances of a potential interview. Okay let me get to the point.... I know each and every former employer Ive had and their writing and English speaking skills may be subpar for what is expected for an LOR. Am I being paranoid or what? The people who I requested are in the medical field or associated with the only university here and understand the weight that the LORs have on the application itself. Advice please:D

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, no letter from your personal physician. I doubt they will even consider that. Second, you don't need letters from previous employers, especially if the field is not medically related or you don't think they will write a strong letter. Thirdly, you need letters from science professors.