SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Is it just me or are AMCAS people getting more competent?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by moo, Jul 26, 2001.

  1. moo

    moo 1K Member 10+ Year Member

    1,423
    6
    Jul 4, 2000
    ok I phoned today and I only waited 15 minutes. This guy answered the call and I asked him about my transcripts. Well, after entering my info into the computer, he said the transcripts weren't entered into the computer yet, but he actually went and searched the pile of transcripts for me! He took down my number and actually CALLED ME BACK! Unbelievable! BTW, they've got one of my transcripts only and the other one probably hasn't arrived, since the other school only sent it early July (from Canada to boot). But in any case, these guys seem to be getting better and they at least understand our plight.
     
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Barton

    Barton Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    401
    2
    Jun 28, 2001
    Minneapolis, MN
    Yeah i think so too. I called yesterday to see if my transcripts had arrived yet (after sending them 3 times!) and the dude on the phone was super nice and efficient and my transcripts were there! What a nice change!
     
  4. Popoy

    Popoy SDN Super Moderator 10+ Year Member

    3,071
    0
    Apr 22, 2001
    Michigan
    Maybe they hear the cries of the people ;)

    I just hope it continues....
     
  5. well, I am encouraged by your posts, since I have sent my transcripts three times also... and I have no idea if the last one will actually end up in the "competent hands of the AMCAS transcript officer".
     
  6. tonem

    tonem Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    619
    2
    Sep 13, 1999
    USA
    I applied four years ago...and I too had to send transcripts 3 times...it seems like they haven't changed much. :)
     
  7. noowen321

    noowen321 Junior Member 7+ Year Member

    17
    0
    Jul 24, 2001
    CA
    is calling AMCAS the only way to confirm that they have received your trancript?
     
  8. Hopkins2010

    Hopkins2010 Banned Banned

    1,709
    1
    Nov 5, 1999
    Baltimore, Maryland
    They gave me the info thru email, but I had to try multiple times. If you do this, make sure you put the correct subject line in the email header (transcript status)
     
  9. Denilson

    Denilson Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    117
    0
    Jul 6, 2001
    NY
    you need your SS# on your e-mail request for transcript info...i wrote twice and received notices in 24 hours twice..
     
  10. neecie

    neecie Member 7+ Year Member

    43
    0
    Jul 20, 2001
    California
    Their phones are working much better. I got to talk to a rep in 6 minutes today .. it's pretty funny how excited and surprised i sound when the actual AMCAS person says "how can i help you?"

    I'm not sure how accurate she was, but the lady told me they are starting to transmit to medical schools TODAY. we'll see. :)
     
  11. jordews

    jordews Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    138
    0
    Jun 26, 2001
    Nashville, TN
    Hey, I also got through with amcas today in about 10 minutes. It is funny how she picked up, and I couldve sworn it was going to be another lady saying "our specialists blah blah" but the lady says "hello amcas" and Im like woah wait wait. anyways, they had my one transcript which is great. I had emailed them twice about them with no word, so I decided to go ahead and call. If anyone is waiting for emails, or just has a question about their app, id suggest to go ahead and call while they're answering relatively quickly.
     
  12. jbfuq

    jbfuq Member 7+ Year Member

    55
    0
    Jul 2, 2001
    New Orleans
    i called to check on my transcripts this morning and was on hold for----get this----LESS THAN 1 MINUTE!!!!!!. the guy i talked to was really helpful and also told me that they had in fact begun transmission of apps to the medical schools.....i guess we will have to wait and see for sure though.
     
  13. transmission of which applications?

    EDP, regular or both?

    they havent even touched mine :(
     

Share This Page