• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Is it necessary.....

Soon2BENT

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 2, 2004
New York, NY
  1. Fellow [Any Field]
    Any input would be great...

Is it necessary to be AOA and have all honors to match into Otolaryngology (trying to get into a habit of saying that, rather then ENT). I'm a good student, probably middle of the class, 238 boards (which I read is a smidge above the average who matched) and am a fairly likeable person. I still have my Surgery rotation to go and I plan on a doing aways (1 at a long shot competitive program and another at a city and hospital that 'I just like'). What do you guys who are residents or have recently matched think? (btw, congrads recently matched.)

S2B

salsadoc44

vote for pedro
    7+ Year Member
    15+ Year Member
    Jul 26, 2001
      go to otomatch.com and find the thread of people who matched and their stats. many did not have AOA. most have 230+ step1s, good grades and LORs. it's nearly impossible to get all honors. all you need is a few here and there. LORs matter the most IMO, more than most students realize. i did not have AOA and i matched at my #1 at a great institution.

TheThroat

SDN Moderator
      Moderator Emeritus
      10+ Year Member
      15+ Year Member
      Jan 18, 2001
      Arlington, Texas
      1. Attending Physician