1. Visit this thread to beta-test StudySchedule.org. StudySchedule is a free nonprofit site that builds dynamic MCAT study schedules unique for your needs and timeline.
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

Is it okay to do all my science pre-reqs at a community college?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Ryan17, Jan 14, 2014.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Ryan17

Ryan17

Dec 26, 2013
    Hi All,

So I posted a similar thread last week asking if would be alright to take non-science prereqs like english at a community college, but what about the science classes? I'm not trying to get into Harvard MD or anything, but would more than a handful of MD schools look down on this?

I'm a postbac student who's a bit tight on money, and CC is my cheapest option. Problem is, I have a poor undergrad record from my first 2 years of college (string of D's that already pulls my science gpa down to a 3.2-3.3 at best, even assuming a successful postbac).

So because of my poor past grades/science GPA, should I just suck it up, pay a bit more and take the science classes at a 4 year university?

Thanks!!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. TennisBallAgainstDaWall

TennisBallAgainstDaWall Account on Hold Account on Hold

Jan 8, 2014
    From what I have heard, you have to show the Medical schools that you can succeed at the university level. Transfer students do this by taking pre-reqs at CC's, and then majoring in a science at a 4 year (and doing well in those classes). Also, if you rock the MCAT, then you should have no problem

4. surfdoc29

surfdoc29 2+ Year Member

Dec 12, 2012
    MDApps: