Medical Is it okay to quit my job after being accepted to medical school?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I have been working in my current position since June of 2019. During my time here, I have also been working another job and doing my medical school application process. I now have acceptances and will begin medical school in 2021.

Lately, I find myself miserable in my job and in the town I am living in. I feel underpaid, WAY overworked and overall, miserable. I think a lot of this has to do with Covid in general, but also my job's handling of Covid. I want to quit so badly. I really would like to take some time to solo travel and stay with my out-of-state family for a while. I could probably get another job, but I honestly just want to travel and enjoy myself before I start school. If I could start school tomorrow, I would, so it is not that I do not want to work hard. I am just burnt out from being unhappy in this job.

I have been non-stop grinding for years and the thought of just hanging out with family and not working for a while (or building my application anymore) is both exciting and very anxiety-inducing. If I did this, I would leave my position in December and start the new year without the job. I really want to do this, but am so nervous that it would hurt my future somehow. I had filled out my application thinking I would work until May 2021, so my hours I got accepted with would be incorrect, but I have plenty of clinical and non-clinical hours besides this job (which is non-clinical) so I am not sure that would actually make a huge difference or if I would have to tell the institution I end up choosing to go to.

I wake up not wanting to go to work, and I know I need to make a change. My family and friends all support my plan, but I need to hear from people actually in the field if this is a bad idea or not.

Thank you for your time!