Is It Possible to Switch from DPM to DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

0coolcookiez

Reaction score
I am a Canadian student looking to attend DPM/DO school in the USA and make a career there as well. I really want to attend the Western University of Health Sciences in California; its my dream to move there while I am still young. The school offers both DPM and DO programs, but based on my GPA at the moment, I am way more likely to get admitted to DPM than DO currently. Is it possible to attend for the DPM program, and then switch to DO after a year or two given my marks are respectable in DPM (I don't mind if none of my DPM course do not carry over and I have to start DO as a first year)? Or should I just do a fifth year and make my application stronger and apply directly to DO later? I personally don't mind being a podiatrist either (its my backup of I can't get into MD/DO, as my dream job is psychiatrist).

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I am a Canadian student looking to attend DPM/DO school in the USA and make a career there as well. I really want to attend the Western University of Health Sciences in California; its my dream to move there while I am still young. The school offers both DPM and DO programs, but based on my GPA at the moment, I am way more likely to get admitted to DPM than DO currently. Is it possible to attend for the DPM program, and then switch to DO after a year or two given my marks are respectable in DPM (I don't mind if none of my DPM course do not carry over and I have to start DO as a first year)? Or should I just do a fifth year and make my application stronger and apply directly to DO later? I personally don't mind being a podiatrist either (its my backup of I can't get into MD/DO, as my dream job is psychiatrist).
No.

Improve your app and apply DO.

Reactions: 3 users