Is it too late to apply for DO now????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MCATTT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am an undergraduate student (senior) who took MCAT this August. I dont' think I did too well. I am expecting around 22- 25 because that was my practice score range. Hence, I decided not to apply to MD school.

A week ago, I found out that I have an option to apply to DO school and become a doctor (I didn't know this before). I checked this forum and saw that many have already applied and got their secondaries. I am a bit disappointed because i haven't even fill out application. My question is, am i too late to get into a DO school? What are my chances? I have never shadowed a DO.

My GPA is 3.9.
I volunteered in hospital for a summer.
I did research for a year and a half in school.
I already have committee recommendation letter for MD school.

I am facing a great delimma. I could wait and take MCAT again, but I don't want to waste more years for a test.
I am thinking about applying to Carb. school as well. But DO school seems to be a very good option.
Any suggestion and comment will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I live in NY, which school should I go for?

Members don't see this ad.

You are not too late to apply to DO schools. Many of them don't require your Primary application to be received until after the first of the year. Good Luck!

It is not too late at all. Also, with a 3.9 and lets assume you get a 23 or 24, you stand a pretty decent chance assuming you apply broadly. Best of Luck and start writing that personal statement/lining up letters or rec.

Members don't see this ad :)