Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Oct 13, 2011
Status
Academic Administration
Hello I am a pre-med student working on my reinvention. I graduate in May, but I am already planning on taking more upper level division science courses to help with my current gpa state. I have 120+ hours and around a 2.75 cum and science gpa. I am currently taking cell biology as one of my upper division science courses, but during the first test I did poorly. I had a funeral to go to that day the death was sudden and the whole week was hectic not giving me time to study and honestly couldn't focus while taking the test. I ended up getting a 55. (I also tried getting out of the test to take later, but my teacher didn't budge and I didn't bother pushing the subject which hindsight i should've). The class only contains 3 tests and I get 20 points of bonus quizzes which I currently have 4 points of and the others will be taken later in the semester. With that being said I would have to average around a 90.5 on the other two tests just to receive a B in the course (not including bonuses) I wouldn't say it would be impossible, but it seems like it'll be a lot of harder work to stay in the course just to maybe get a B. I know a C would hurt me a lot more and a B won't help as much since I was planning on receiving A's in these courses. Would it be better to attempt to receive a B or drop the course and try again in the Spring to achieve an A.

Another note I currently have 3 W's from my earlier years in college because of transitioning schools or dealing with personal issues. I know people have said before a W isn't the biggest deal in the world, but I feel like it'll start to add up and not look as well since I'm trying to reinvent myself. I feel like my reasoning to withdrawal is reasonable. Is the risk worth it to obtain a B in this course or is it better to wait a semester withdrawal and shoot for an A again.