Is it worth me applying for an Anesthesiology residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Charles_Darwin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm currently a third-year dental student with a mediocre GPA (3.0) but an excellent resume and EC's. I spoke to an upperclassman who got into an Anesth. residency and he recommended being in the top 10 of the class. Obviously I'm not. I intended to spend this spring break doing an externship, but the quarantine also messed up those plans. Should I bother applying for the residency, or should I do private practice first?

Thanks all :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
What class rank does that translate into?

I’m not sure if DA is one of those specialties where practice experience is a plus. A GPR with some heavy hospital time would probably be more weighty. Just a thought.

Big Hoss
I haven't checked my class rank but I'm guessing it's probably in the middle. Good point about the GPR though!

Members don't see this ad :)
I haven't checked my class rank but I'm guessing it's probably in the middle.
You should double check on that. At my school a GPA of 2.9-3.0 translates to bottom 10% and you need 3.5 or above to be in top 50%.

The last few years anesthesiology has become a lot more competitive than it used to be. Grades/rank is important. Externships and interview are also very important...if the program likes you on a personal basis they will be more likely to rank you because it is very important all the residents get along with each other.
Do as many externships as possible, it shows commitment, looks great on your CV, and will give both you and them a sense of each other.