Sep 17, 2015
Portland, OR
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey everyone, over this past year I've spent a large amount of time prowling through SDN and today I decided it was time I made an account and joined the community. I'm about to start my second year of community college and I'm just beginning to wonder if my ultimate goal of becoming a doctor is still a good idea in today's world. Now I know this question has been asked several times before and I have read most of those threads but unfortunately the vast majority of those threads were too old to be reliable and/or turned into those annoying "how dare you want to go into medicine to live a comfortable life" bashing sessions. So I thought it'd be a good idea to start a new one. So what do you guys think? Is medicine still as respected, lucrative, and rewarding at it used to be? Is the time and debt worth it? Given the chance, would you do it all again?

Reactions: zaneoyo
About the Ads

DoctorDrewOutsidetheLines

Pink Panther & Hope Diamond
Removed
Jul 17, 2015
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Worth it means different things to different people.

Why do YOU want to be a doctor?

If you're chasing money, you'll never be happy.

Do what you love and the money will follow.

MrLogan13

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
May 16, 2014
Status
Medical Student
The value of a pursuit depends on what your motivation is. The question is not if medicine is worth it, the question is if it's worth it to you?

Reactions: mcatjelly

Spector1

Orbis non Sufficit
5+ Year Member
Jun 29, 2011
Status
Pre-Medical
if you want to do medicine, then do it

if you don't want to do medicine, then don't do it. simple as that. Its not a "worth it" question, its a matter of what you want to do with the rest of your life

torshi

Squirrel
5+ Year Member
Oct 26, 2010