Is my dad's suggested application plan for me to overcome a low MCAT without taking a gap year viable? It seems risky to me.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greysdidntprepareme

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I just want to say thank you in advance for any advice you give. I'm stuck in a bit of a weird situation. This might be a tad long.

I'm a pretty well rounded applicant. My GPA is 3.88, have 200 hours of clinicals, 130 hours of shadowing, 600 hours of research (two different labs combined), volunteering with underprivileged kids, some other volunteering, and I also have the unique factor of a double degree of biology/music. I have only taken 15 credits in a semester once and it was the semester I studied for my MCAT. Generally my average is 18 cred/sem. Some of my activities are related to music AND medicine so I've created a bit of a niche for myself. The problem is: I got a low/average MCAT at 509. It was a big surprise because I dropped from my practice FL's! My goal was a 515 and I know I'm capable of it. Now I'm stuck in this position where I know I could get a significantly better score if I retook in January, and at the same time I've spent so much time creating a well-rounded application and I would really like to go to a mid-tier to lower-top tier school that I'm interested in going to. My dad is a big part of my application process right now (he has my best interests in mind and all that) and he suggested a plan that I think is risky he doesn't seem to think is if we play our cards right. I'm wondering what everyone thinks.