Is my dean threatening me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

feeling-dizzy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So in email exchange between I and the Dean, I criticized the school of its unfair treatment against me . The Dean then proceed and reminded me that I have emailed him several inappropriate emails 1 year ago (but he did not do anything about it); and finally he emailed to tell me to "Chose your battle and your words wisely".
Is this a threat to me? I know i am not supposed to tell him those same words since I am just a student, but is it professionalism for a Dean to tell me to "Chose your battle"?

Members don't see this ad.

I am curious what inappropriate emails you sent him 1 year ago.
Like racist or something?

I mean even if you are indeed treated unfairly, talk nicely (or at least decently) to your dean. He is not the one who is trying to make life hard for you. Be nice and professional to him, and I believe he will do the same to you.

Reactions: 1 user
So in email exchange between I and the Dean, I criticized the school of its unfair treatment against me . The Dean then proceed and reminded me that I have emailed him several inappropriate emails 1 year ago (but he did not do anything about it); and finally he emailed to tell me to "Chose your battle and your words wisely".
Is this a threat to me? I know i am not supposed to tell him those same words since I am just a student, but is it professionalism for a Dean to tell me to "Chose your battle"?

This needs so much context for anyone to help you.. what the hell did you tell the dean that made him say "choose you battle and your words wisely". It's not a threat, it seems like advice. But it completely changes depending on how you got to this situation, which is a bad situation to be in!

Reactions: 17 users
Members don't see this ad :)