Is my gap year activites enough? Can't find a job!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SSLiebstandarte

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in May 2011and received a scholarship/grant to do research over the summer for 4 months until September. I moved back in with my parents and has been unable to find a job in 4 months thus far (sent about 10 CVs a day to companies, various research labs...etc etc).

What I have done so far is hospital volunteering 2hrs/week, hospice volunteering 4 hrs/week, youth organization mentorship 3 hrs/week, and physician shadowing 3 hrs/week. All other time is spent, so far fruitlessly, on trying to find ad job.

From what I hear on here, the adcoms want to know what you did for your gap year - so is what I'm doing and my efforts enough??

I'm registered to take the MCAT in May, so the next 4 months I will be studying and no longer interested in a job.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm in the same boat as you. Couldn't find a job for a few months after applying around and then deciding to devote my time to MCAT studying, ECs, and getting ready to apply in June. Since I have stopped sending out resumes and looking for jobs, the job interviews and offers have started to flow in. It's all just a big tease:mad:.

What you are doing sounds fine to me, for what it's worth. Good luck.

I'm doing the same thing as well...couldn't find a job so now I'm volunteering at various places and studying for the MCAT. Hopefully it won't look bad.

What's funny is that I did receive interviews at several research labs, but I think because I told all the PI that I want to go into medicine, and might put in the minimum 2 year commitment, they all passed on me.

Then again - if you lie to them, they probably won't be happy writing you a LOR and I would probably be miserable going to interviews...etc etc anyways.