Is my lack of volunteer experience going to hurt me??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MonicaMelquiade

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a 3.92 cGPA and 3.9 sGPA, anticipate getting a 34 or 35 MCAT (I've taken a practice exam), have average extracurriculars (leadership activities, athletic stuff, a couple clubs), should have 50 shadowing hours with three different doctors, and lots of research hours in two different labs (also might be doing an REU this summer). My major is Molecular Biochemistry and Biophysics and I have a minor in Linguistics.

I have a history of service and my personal statement will reflect this, but I don't actually have any clinical volunteer hours in my undergrad years. I'm set to start volunteering at a hospital next month, but will probably only have 50-100 hours by the time I start applying in June. I'm worried this is really going to hurt me. So question number 1 is: How important are large numbers of volunteer hours, and will it look bad that I didn't start volunteering until this semester?

My second question involves my undergraduate institution. I'm at a small private tech school. It never occurred to me that this was going to hold me back a great deal, but my advisor told me recently that this would probably be my limiting factor. Will the fact that I didn't go to an ivy or big 10 school reflect poorly on me, even with a fairly high GPA? What kinds of schools should I be looking at?

Thanks so much for any help and advice!
Appreciatively,
A Pre-Med Student

Members don't see this ad.