Is my upward trend good enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

az43

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, going to get straight to the point. I just graduated from a top10 public school in CA. I was in undergrad for a total of 5 years (3 yrs CC, 2 yrs Uni). I got a pretty low gpa in my 2nd and 3rd year because I started working full time to help my parents bc my dad got injured at work. I'm a first generation URM student. Here are my grades year by year

Overall: cGPA - 3.51 | sGPA - 3.37

Year 1: 3.653 GPA | 4.00 sGPA
Year 2: 3.384 GPA | 3.20 sGPA
Year 3: 2.730 GPA | 2.50 sGPA
Year 4: 3.772 GPA | 3.684 sGPA
Year 5: 3.895 GPA | 3.844 sGPA

Note: Units aren't the same year by year and years 1-3 are semester units while 4-5 are quarter units.

My total CC GPA is a 3.3, University GPA is a 3.84, and cGPA is a 3.51. I graduated w/ department honors and my EC's are good. Do I stand a chance at MD schools if I do well on the MCAT? My goal is to stay in CA.

Also, I got C's in 4 pre req courses (Phys I, Chem II, OChem II, Bio II). Should I retake these in order to boost my sGPA to a 3.5?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you are indeed a URM your GPA's are along the lines of what URM MD matriculant GPAs are. African American MD matriculant averages were at cGPA 3.48 sGPA 3.35. You're fine.

Reactions: 1 user
The V-shaped trend is not lethal. Be prepared to explain it at interviews, though.

What community do you represent? And please don't' say "Brooklyn".

Hey guys, going to get straight to the point. I just graduated from a top10 public school in CA. I was in undergrad for a total of 5 years (3 yrs CC, 2 yrs Uni). I got a pretty low gpa in my 2nd and 3rd year because I started working full time to help my parents bc my dad got injured at work. I'm a first generation URM student. Here are my grades year by year

Members don't see this ad :)