Is OT school a dream?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Safavi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm in a pre-health post-baccalaureate program. So far I'm going to take Anatomy & Physiology I and II, Chemistry I and II, Microbiology, and Microeconomics. I had earlier considered DO school but realized this is an arrogant dream, so I've looked into other programs- nursing and OT, specifically.

I have a bachelor's and an associates. I did my first two years at a community college and managed a 3.8 GPA, while my last two and a half years were abysmal- 3.1 GPA after retaking courses due to a bad couple of semesters influenced by events that affected my drive to work. I know, no excuses. After retaking statistics, abnormal psychology, developmental psychology, and a social psychology class, I managed a 3.1, which I'm extremely embarrassed of. I have all of my prereqs except for A&P I, II, and Chem I, II, however these prereqs (the psych classes) are retakes. I've never scored below a C, but enough C's will ruin your transcript, and I had two semesters of horrible grades. I bounced back, but too little, too late. My GPA at the four-year (retakes averaged with original grades for those four courses) comes out to 2.7ish, reflecting two and a half years as a psychology major, while with grade replacement it comes out to 3.1.

I'm going to have a lion's share of difficulty getting into a nursing school and I just want to beat myself with a stick for even considering DO school. But I have no choice, I can't stop at a BA in psych. I've shadowed an OT last month and discovered this is something I enjoy, and it affords a better lifestyle than nursing. This is something I have to cultivate further, but I want to know what my chances are for attending OT school.